Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Novice

Hi,

I'm new to this and need some help. My rental property has had no work done to it for years; I was told that the kitchen was installed in 1989 - 5 units in total. As it's a large kitchen, I got a new kitchen with 8 units fitted. I've been reading up on this and is it correct that I cannot claim the kitchen as a repair?
    If I can claim a proportion, will that be 5/8th of the total price or can I just take off the price of the 3 extra units + 3/8ths of fitting price?
    Flat pack kitchens were the same price as a Howdens kitchen (got a good deal), but as it's a Howdens, does that mean it will that be classed as an improvement and so not be able to claim anything at all as a repair (ie capital only)?

It depends.
    Had the original kitchen remained pristine since installation would the property be worth roughly what it is worth after the replacement.

In any replacement there will be an element of improvement (betterment) so it isn't ruled out as a repair/replacement simply because what you end up with is better.
    If you have significantly improved the property you can apportion the work to an element of repair and an element of betterment.

You don't lose the cost of the improvement entirely, that element would be offset against any capital gain on disposal.
    When I post, I am expressing an opinion - feel free to disagree, I have been wrong before.
    Please don't act on my suggestions without checking with a grown-up (ideally some kind of expert).

Comment

Thanks jpkeates. I had a chat with the previous owner and he says it was an MFI kitchen of 'good quality'. If it had stayed in pristine condition and comparing that to what I've put in, I'd say the difference in property value would be minimal: an increase of around the £1000 mark with the new kitchen. The kitchen cost £3000 for supply and fit.