Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Limited company?

Good afternoon all,

A few years ago my father and I bought some houses to rent out. I bought them in my name as his credit etc wasn't great. However I now want out due to all the tax etc and also I just don't want to do it any more. He cannot afford to buy them off me, and I don't want to sell them - ideally I want my father to get the money from rental income but I don't want all the liability as I won't be receiving the profits.

What are everyone's opinions on setting up a limited company? My thought is that I can effectively give him ownership and liability through the company so I can get away from the property game. I have never done anything like this before, it's just an idea so I was hoping for your experienced thoughts.

Many thanks for your time

I think a Declaration of Trust will take care of your father receiving all the income and he can do his own tax returns. However, that doesn't get you off of the mortgages. That would still remain your liability.

Comment

Thank you for your quick response. I want to remove liability from myself as I want to buy my own residential property and I don't want the extra liability for the rental properties. My (probably incorrect) understanding is that putting them into a limited company would take me away from the association with the rental properties?

Comment

Having rental properties won't stop you getting a residential mortgage. I'm assuming the BTL's have proper commercial mortgages?

I don't believe LTD company is the way forward at all. If you transfer the properties to a LTD company I think they may attract various taxes.

Comment

Originally posted by Scutler View Post
          I bought them in my name
          He cannot afford to buy them off me, and I don't want to sell them
          You have to do one or the other, there is no choice, continue reading as to why,