CGT Letting relief/PRR

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

CGT Letting relief/PRR

Hi, sorry for posting this question but I'm new to taxation.
    I bought a flat in Jan 1996 for 38k and I'm potentially looking to sell this for 200k before april. I lived in the property until Aug 2005 and since then I have rented the property out. I understand I am due some principal residence relief in addition to letting relief. The flat is in my sole name although I am married and I am a high rate tax payer.

Can someone please help me to calculate how much my CGT tax bill would be. Is it advisable for me to put the property in joint names as my partner is a basic rate tax payer? My partner has never lived in the property.

Thanks Clare

Although a transfer to a spouse (or Civil Partner) will not incur CGT, there could some loss of PPR relief and Lettings Relief depending on the timing.

However, it should be possible to calculate the optimum % transfer for the additional Annual Exemption and 18% tax band to outweigh the above.

Presumably all the rental profit has been returned to HMRC in your sole name?

Comment

Just a tad over £2000 in CGT. However you can deduct the aquisition costs and legal and sales fees off the gross gain which wil;l bring it down a bit.
      A quick calculation reveals that if you gifted your husband around 7.5% of the beneficial ownership of the property you would have no CGT liability even with the slight loss of PPR and LR which you husband is not entitled to as you are.
      Note the exchange of contract signed date will have to be prior to the 6th of April 2014. Regards Peter

Comment

TaxationPete,

Is that £2k or £20K CGT? If it's as it reads £2k, once you've applied solcitor and estate agent fees - it will be a miracle if you have to pay any CGT. What a lovely profit - well done!

Comment