what amount would you be taxed on?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

what amount would you be taxed on?

I am new to this and have a complicated situation... I have a property with a buy to let mortgage on, my mam has a mortgage free property. We would like my mam to be able to rent out her property for say £500/month, then if she paid me the same rent per month would she be taxed on her rent? what would be the calculation for offsetting tax against interest etc?

I'm not an expert, so seek more qualified advice but my understanding is:

You would both be taxed on the £500 a month (but not if any other earnings added to this didn't exceed the personal tax threshold). You can claim tax relief on your buy to let mortgage.

Comment

1. Your mam's rental profit = 500 x 12 = 6000 pds minus house insurance , repairs & maintenance etc.

2. Her tax will be calculated as " annual income from work" plus "rental profit" minus "personal free allowance at 8105 pds" = income taxable at 20% or 40% rate.

3. Your own "rental profit" will be further reduced by annual interest on your mortage.

Comment

Latest Activity

Collapse

• VAT on professional fees - commercial to residential planning application
        Dan_Manchester
        Evening all,

We have recently submitted a planning application to convert a small commercial unit in a couple of new apartments. As I understand it the building work will be zero-rated for VAT as we are creating dwellings were none were previously.

The planners have requested...
        16-01-2018, 20:20 PM
      • Short tax return
        samsam
        I have one letting property. I have always used a short tax return which has been fine for giving totals of rent and costs inc mortgage interest. Now that the allowance for mortgage interest is reducing by 25% every year how do I show the figures? Whichever tax return I use, do I do the calculations...
        16-01-2018, 14:40 PM
      • Reply to Short tax return