Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Council tax and students/professionals

Good morning!

I am rather new in the 'landlord world' and just have two properties right now.

One of my properties is vacant. I have a bunch of 3 friends in their mid 20s interested in renting and sharing it.
    2 of them are professionals, the other one is student + part time worker to get herself pocket money.

What they would like to do is make the student sign the agreement so that they avoid the council tax since the council wont know there are professionals living there.

I have no idea what to do... I would be tempted to accept this as the property will therefore be let this week but I am not quite sure about the consequences for me.

Any advice on this matter would be really appreciated!
    Thanks

Originally posted by wiregig View Post
    Good morning!

I am rather new in the 'landlord world' and just have two properties right now.

One of my properties is vacant. I have a bunch of 3 friends in their mid 20s interested in renting and sharing it.
    2 of them are professionals, the other one is student + part time worker to get herself pocket money.

What they would like to do is make the student sign the agreement so that they avoid the council tax since the council wont know there are professionals living there.

I have no idea what to do... I would be tempted to accept this as the property will therefore be let this week but I am not quite sure about the consequences for me.

Any advice on this matter would be really appreciated!
    Thanks
    Not recommended.

Where will this leave you if there was a problem with rent payment, damage to property, legal proceedings etc?

Ramnik
    Private advice is available for a fee by sending a private message.

Comment