Only home and rented for 6 months in 7 years of living inside, CGT to pay?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Only home and rented for 6 months in 7 years of living inside, CGT to pay?

Hello,

Apologies if the question is similar to many others.

I bought a flat in 2015 and lived inside until today, so about 7 years. I spent 6 months outside UK for work and took the opportunity to let it for the period. The difference in value between 2015 and today is about £50,000. I'm a european and planning to leave the country, because my dad recently died in the country of origin and I need to look after the family down there.

I have very little knowledge about GCT and would like to understand if I'm supposed to pay it and eventually the amount?

Regards.

You will need to do a tax return within 30 days of sale if you are a UK taxpayer.
    But there should be no CGT to pay.

While there would be a taxable period while the property was let, you get an allowance for renting your own home, which includes 9 months additional tax free period, which is longer than you rented it out.
    So all of the gain will not be subject to tax
    When I post, I am expressing an opinion - feel free to disagree, I have been wrong before.
    Please don't act on my suggestions without checking with a grown-up (ideally some kind of expert).

Comment

I agree no CGT to pay.

You are liable for CGT but you can claim private residence relief .

Tax when you sell your home - GOV.UK (www.gov.uk)

Comment

jpkeates,

Thank you for your help. My understanding is that the 9 months are an allowance for the last period (9 months) before the sale, but again I'm quite confused.

I let the flat in 2020 for 6 months and after that I got back inside. It is currently my place of residence and only home.

I found, however, that since I lived outside UK for work during such period of letting there is a partial relief from CGT, because of a clause pertaining the distance from work.

Comment