Wondering whether to renovate makes sense?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wondering whether to renovate makes sense?

Hey everyone

I'm considering adding a second BTL property to my portfolio however the property isn't in the greatest of conditions and could do with some work (Updating the Kitchen/Bathroom at least).

If I went ahead on the property and renovations would they be claimable as CGT or would they be allowable expenses considering I'm buying the items (Dated Kitchen/Bathroom) within the property as part of the property price? I've got little experience with BTL and taxes but I understand if I'm replacing like for like then things should come under allowable expenses.

Any advice would be appreciated

Pete

They're probably a bit of both.

If you're buying a property sufficiently run down that it reduces the purchase price, the proportion of the work that increases the value of the property will be capital. But it's likely that the actual cost will be greater than the increase in the value of the property, so that element is allowable against income (provided it's solely and exclusively for the business).

Any replacement or repair is going to have an element of improvement that isn't capital, a new kitchen is pretty much certain to be better than the old one being replaced, but that doesn't make it a capital improvement per see. But making the kitchen bigger or adding a new bathroom would be much more likely to be capital.

It's not an exact science, and providing you can justify the split rationally, you can probably bend the spending to meet whatever your tax goals are.
    When I post, I am expressing an opinion - feel free to disagree, I have been wrong before.
    Please don't act on my suggestions without checking with a grown-up (ideally some kind of expert).

Comment