Class 4 NIC on rental property

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Class 4 NIC on rental property

My accountant has completed my tax return. I work as a self employed cleaner and that is my income. Last year I earned less than my personal tax allowance. I rent out a property and I make a profit. Can someone please confirm that class 4 is NOT payable on rental income?

The class 4 NIC applies to self employed persons , so does your cleaning income reach the NICs starting point ?

https://forbeswatson.co.uk/national-...rental-income/

Comment

Hi All

my partner's only income is property income, and this year she has £20k profit after tax (first time she's had a decent amount)

Weve got to the end of the self assessment return and it says £1600 too pay in tax, which is fine, but then apparently we need to pay the same again during 2021 (in two instalments) for NIC??! IS that correct please?

Comment

The rental profit ( rental income after deducting allowable expenses ) is taxed as " income + your job income " = total income which is tax at 20% and 40% after deducting the personal allowance.

The class 4 NIC rate is charged on " trading income" but not charged on "investment income",
        ""
        If the "rental income comes from property held for long term, it is "investment income".

Comment

bhodgkiss,

Do you mean £20K profit after expenses ?

If the rental income comes from properties held long term, it is "investment income" and not subject to class 4NIC.

http://accountant-preston-lancashire...e-lettings-tax

Comment

Are you certain it's for NIC's? I think its the two payments on account which is towards the tax for the next year.

Comment

Thanks All

So strangley the figure in two instalments to pay this coming year is exactly the same amount I needed to pay by 31st Jan

So tax bill due on 31st Jan 2021 is £1688

Then in addition I have to pay £844 on 31st Jan and £844 on 31st July 2021, but these add up EXACTLY to the tax due (£1688)