Double check - renovations deductible from CGT liability?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Double check - renovations deductible from CGT liability?

Hello,

Being a forum lurker over the years I now need a bit of help, if anyone would be willing?

I have been letting a property since 2009.

It was purchased back then for £115,000 and it is now valued at £300,000. I now wish to sell and clearly I have CGT to pay.

After purchasing (in 2010) I spent circa. £25,000 renovating the property. Then in 2018 I stopped letting and spent a further £20,000 renovating before an intended sale, but I then decided to let it out again until now. These were renovations by the way i.e. knocking out walls, new shower room where one didn't exist before, destroyed carpets for wooden floors. .

The property was not let out for 12 months during the second 2018 renovations before being let out once again (I don't think this matters but it might do so I mention it just in case?).

My question is: am I correct in thinking that I can deduct the total £45,000 before calculating my CGT liability?

Thank you

Repairs and replacing existing items are revenue expenses charged against rental income.

Improvements and new items ( not existing before ) are capital expenses charged against capital gains..

If you cannot claim all £45K , then apportion the costs , say "one third" to repairs and replacements and "two thirds" to improvements.

Comment

Did you already claim some of this against your rental income.

The new walls are capital expenses. ,

New carpets definitely are not. Neither is painting, other decorating and so on.

Comment

There are circumstances where a room is painted acceoptably but drably.redecoration in an unecessary repair but does add value and therefore could be construed as a capital expense.Similarly laying replacement paving slkabs in lsandstone on top of Wickes basic is an upgrade.It is a grey area defining decoration.

Comment