First time self assessment calculation before submittnig?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First time self assessment calculation before submittnig?

Hi all

This might be a simple one, or not.

Can someone please advise if this seems correct?

For 2019-2020 I have the following on the HMRC form:

£9715 income
    £2558 total allowable expenses

Profit £7517

I believe mortgage payments/interest are not counted now? unless I should have included that in taxable expenses? but didn't read it anywhere :/

The next page worked out £1425.20 due for 2019-2020 based on my figures, then it seems you have to pay half of the next year.

I did this calculation as a check on the Tax Scouts rental income calculator and it mentioned I can claim £510 from mortgage interest payments and £306 as a tax credit?

This is my first time doing this, any help much appreciated.

Cheers

Are you using the online self assessment or a paper tax return?
    Have you had a statement of interest from your mortgage company telling you how much interest you have paid on your mortgage for the 2019 - 2020 tax year and have you included that amount in the £2,558 expenses figure?

Comment

Thanks BTL

I am using the online version as it advised me to.

No actually, is this something I request from them or do I use the annual statement they send? The £2558 does not include my mortgage payments

Comment

You need to phone your mortgage lender and ask them to send you a statement of interest for the 2019 - 2020 tax year (I’m assuming you’ve got a buy to let mortgage rather than just renting the property out with a residential mortgage) some lenders send them without you having to ask but if you haven’t received it yet they probably won’t send it until you ask.