Tax Return

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tax Return

Does anyone know of any good online tutorials/guides for filling out your self-assessment tax return? I don't know about you's but I hate filling out forms (they always ask you to tick a box to say the information you've put in is correct too!!)!

This is my first year filling out the self-assessment tax return for 6th April 2019 to 5th April 2020.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

"Total Rents and Other income from property:" - On the Gov.Uk video it mentions Total Property Receipts - Expenses and deductions = Profit from property income... so if for example the rent is £500 but management fee for letting agency is £60 and I had repair for washing machine of £60 on the statement also (letting agency got repair man out. Also if I do repairs myself - do I add this as expense? How do i prove this or do I just hold onto receipts for items purchased such as paint at B&Q?) Is the total for this month for rents and other income £500 or £380??

Like why can't they just ask simple questions like how much did you earn? What expenses did you have? Total profit? etc??

If i'm understanding the video HMRC has on youtube (it then goes on to explain I must state Gross income to HRMC?) my understanding is I must total up all the £500/month so if paid rent for 11 months (1 falls outwith 6th April 19 to 5th April 2020 tax year for would be following years tax) the answer to this would be £5500 then I claim letting agency management fee (£60/month) and repairs in another section on the form (allowable expenses)??

Originally posted by Brian862107 View Post
    Does anyone know of any good online tutorials/guides for filling out your self-assessment tax return? I don't know about you's but I hate filling out forms (they always ask you to tick a box to say the information you've put in is correct too!!)
    I get an accountant to complete my tax return.