Can landlord do end of tenancy clean and claim costs?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can landlord do end of tenancy clean and claim costs?

I paid £200 for pre-tenancy clean only 6 months ago, ironically at request of new tenant who felt the cleaning of old tenants wasn't up to scratch. I know this is the going rate for end of tenancy clean as I’ve paid a different company much the same price before.

This tenant only lived there 6 months but had left it in a much worse state, so it needed seriously cleaning.

This time I hadn't banked on the company not being available so had to clean it all myself. This took hours and hours, so I want to charge to reflect this. Can I charge for it? I worked for 4 hours which is less than it took for the company to clean it 6 months ago.

Can I actually do this though? I am not sure if I have to suck it up because I am not a professional cleaner by trade, or whether I can do this because it took me half a day to rectify.

I should not have trusted the tenant's promises to get it to the same standard as documented at the start of her tenancy, but she was very convincing and I made a wrong judgement call. It's a tricky one because the tenant I had a few years ago was brilliant and left it immaculate, so had I pre-booked cleaners it would have wasted a lot of money. So I thought I was onto a winner again with this woman.

Anyway, does anyone here know where I stand with taking something out of the deposit to reflect my 4 hours of cleaning?

If you have check in and check out reports, I see no problem.

Comment

You are looking for compensation and if £200 is the going rate, that's what you can claim.
      When I post, I am expressing an opinion - feel free to disagree, I have been wrong before.
      Please don't act on my suggestions without checking with a grown-up (ideally some kind of expert).

Comment

Latest Activity

Collapse

• Maintenance payment flow of funds
        Kots
        Hi all,