Is this legal?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is this legal?

Hi all, I am completely new to this so wanted to get some informal advice. I currently jointly own a freehold property in London (with my sister that lives in the US) that I inherited from my mother many years ago. I do not live in the house, not does my sister; until now, the entire property was let via full management with an estate agent (the old tenants have since left, so place is now empty). My son would now like to live in the property and we are permitting him to do so rent free, so long as the other 3 bedrooms are occupied by paying tenants (we have a small HMO license already from local council)

My son mentioned that we could take advantage of the rent a room scheme (£7500 tax-free), with a lodgers agreement being setup with my son being named as the householder (resident landlord) and thereby my son would declare the rental income on his own tax returns in order to benefit from this scheme.

Would this be permitted? If he is declaring the rental income on his tax, would I still need to declare this too if he was also transferring the money to me and my sister further down the line?

Thanks

Originally posted by js21983 View Post

Would this be permitted?
    Up to this part, the answer is sure, that's fine. But...

Originally posted by js21983 View Post
    If he is declaring the rental income on his tax, would I still need to declare this too if he was also transferring the money to me and my sister further down the line?
    ... You're receiving income, whether directly from your tenants of 3, or from your son, I can't imagine why you wouldn't need to declare it to the tax authorities.
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

Comment