Tax bill 2016

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tax bill 2016

Hello and please excuse my ignorance as im brand new to self assessment. To cut a long story short i have clearly made a mistake in my self assessment or at least i think i have. For the tax year ending 2016 i have received a bill for £1763.94 due to the tax man finding errors in my return, Basically i work for the local government in the area of children's services and my income is subject to PAYE, meaning i have little to do with it.

I have also purchased a property during this time and as a result made a small profit, once all work was carried out of £2.790 for the year. This is split between me and my business partner as we are at the beginning of hopefully buying / renovating several properties. So i split the profit down the middle and told the tax man i earned £1395.

Now here is where i have made my mistake. I failed to tell the tax man i was also paying PAYE from my day job, as i was already paying tax on this and combining my day job and the income from the property still left my income below £33K. Hence not in a new tax band. I also assumed that he would now i was paying tax by PAYE as its local government.

Hence i expected to pay tax on the £1395 extra. But i have received a bill of £1763,94, Can any one advise on this.
    Equally my partner has not received any bill and he did virtually the exact same thing, As it was his advice in the first place.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Get an accountant.

Comment

Does your business partner actually own half the property? Is he named on the land registry?

What "work" was carried out? It sounds shambolic -- you don't just declare a number to HMRC. HMRC generally explain the basis of their billing, so it should be obvious.

When you say your "income" was below 33K -- if by income you mean your pay cheques, you could be a higher rate taxpayer.

Did you submit a tax return? Why not?

Comment