Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can lawyers be honourable?

TC2009 said:

I'm no lawyer (I am far too honourable for that profession)
    Why is there a general perception that lawyers cannot be honourable?

Originally posted by Lawcruncher View Post
    American 'ambulance-chasing' exponents, leading to UK "Have you been hurt? Claim big damages on no-win-no-fee basis" advertisements.
    JEFFREY SHAW, solicitor [and Topic Expert], Nether Edge Law*
    1. Public advice is believed accurate, but I accept no legal responsibility except to direct-paying private clients.
    2. Telephone advice: see http://www.landlordzone.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=34638.
    3. For paid advice about conveyancing/leaseholds/L&T, contact me* and become a private client.
    4. *- Contact info: click on my name (blue-highlight link).

Comment

TC2009 said:

Does TC2009's comment amount to a 'general perception'?

I don't think there is a general perception.
      'Pause you who read this, and think for a moment of the long chain of iron or gold, of thorns or flowers, that would never have bound you, but for the formation fo the first link on one memorable day'. Charles Dickens, Great Expectations

Comment

Actually, I'll qualify that. I don't think there is a general perception that they are dishonourable. There may be general perception that they charge excessively for some of the things they do, relative to charges for services requiring equivalent training, knowledge, skill and experience which are offered in other professions.
        'Pause you who read this, and think for a moment of the long chain of iron or gold, of thorns or flowers, that would never have bound you, but for the formation fo the first link on one memorable day'. Charles Dickens, Great Expectations

Comment

TC2009 said:

(1) Because it is a lazy knee-jerk stereotype which makes the person repeating it feel good about themselves..