In debt to landlord over Police damages. Help!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

In debt to landlord over Police damages. Help!!!

Hi all,

I am new to this forum, and apologies in advance for the length of this post (TLDR at the end).
    I have recently been contacted by my landlord and asked to pay a hefty sum for damages to the property caused by the police.

Some important info (me/situation:
    • I am a student, this is the second year I have lived in one of my landlord's properties, I was hoping to stay on for another year too.
    • Privately renting
    • Boyfriend was staying with me at the time and was arrested.
    • Police "raid"
    Info about landlord:
    • My landlord does not give notice, let alone 24hrs, before he comes to AND enters the property whenever he pleases.
    • I have hear him enter other tenant's rooms (when they are away from the house and have yet to move out)
    • Plays up or down a situation in his favour.

Situation (Police)
    Police turn up at property, were about to break-in the door but I opened it just as they were putting the clamp in place. - This caused some damage to the frame of the front door, the uPVC where the clamp was had come away from the frame.
    Once inside they force entry into two locked bedroom; causing damage to the door frames and an alleged crack in the wall/ceiling.
    They were informed that a male tenant was living at the property and that's all they told me. - they also seized 0.3g cannabis from myself.

The following day, I find out that it was my boyfriend was was arrested. - He ran and they stopped him on the street, he had 0.1g cocaine on his person and so they arrested him.
    He had told them he was staying with me and so they came to my property and his previous property.