Leaving a fixed term assured shorthold tenancy (joint tenancy)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Leaving a fixed term assured shorthold tenancy (joint tenancy)

Hello.

A bit of a backstory about the situation. I am a second year university student and was supposed to live in a 2 bedroom flat with my friend this year. We signed a joint tenancy agreement (a fixed term assured shorthold tenancy). Unfortunately, in August my friend informed me and the landlord that due to personal reasons she is not able to return to university this year and therefore will not be living in the flat. The landlord asked me to find a replacement tenant which is what I did.
    Unfortunately, the girl I found was not the best fit. Several problems appeared right away, the biggest ones were her regularly smoking weed in the flat and her moving in some guy with her, despite the contract saying that only two people sleep in the premises. I have talked to her personally about the smoking issue after the very first time. She promised me not to do it again, but, unfortunately, it still continues. I also let her and the landlord know that I am uncomfortable living there as this unknown male spend so much time there, but it got me nowhere. When the unknown male pretty much moved in and started staying in the flat at least 5 - 6 nights a week, I brought up the situation to the landlord who just suggested I talked to the flatmate about this. And then, if nothing is solved, write a letter of complaint to him.
    Unfortunately, the living situation has gotten really out of hand and has worsened my mental health problems. Because of this, my studies have also suffered. As the landlord is not willing to involved (at least until I write the letter of complaint), I feel like the only solution to this is me moving out. However, before I do that, I want to make sure there would be no repercussions.

TLDR:
    -Joint tenancy
    -Flatmate smoking weed