Landlord asked for the keys a month before the contract ended, rent!!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Landlord asked for the keys a month before the contract ended, rent!!

Sorry if this is really long winded!

I am a graduate who is now living with my parents, but for 2 years I lived with 3 other students, 2 consecutive 12 month contracts both starting September 10th 2017 and 2018. So as the title states, my landlord asked for the keys exactly a month (10th August) before the end of our tenancy (10th Sept 2019).** I know that one of my housemates was planning on living there for longer (we'll call her C) but had to move out due to this, however I moved out at the beginning of July which the landlord was aware of (sorry I'm not sure if this info is relevant).

Me and one of my housemates (R) paid the rent in advance to cover until the end of the tenancy, so we have paid for August 10th-September 10th's rent. The other two housemates (W and C) pay their rent monthly so have not yet paid August's rent, to my knowledge.

So what I'm actually asking is, am I correct in thinking that R and I made an over payment of August's rent which we should be able to claim back from the landlord? The contract doesn't state these conditions about keys being collected by the landlord a month early.

Extra info- I have already emailed the landlord about this, he said I am not due a repayment because "a landlord cannot rent a property for 1 or 2 months, it has to be 12". But R and I have paid for a month where the house is not ours anymore- there is building work going on in our rooms and they have landlord has our keys.

I'd appreciate any help, if it's not obvious already I have no idea what I'm talking about.x