How to surrender tenancy without filling my room

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to surrender tenancy without filling my room

I'm currently in an uncomfortable situation, in which I feel bullied and harrassed by one of my housemates in particular. There have been two recent episodes in which she has verbally and over social media been particularly aggressive, hostile and unkind. I find rubbish in my belongings and outside my door, put there on purpose. They are noisy and unclean, often have people over until the early hours who are loud and messy and this is never cleaned up. I don't mind people being round, but they are selfish in the way they do this.

I've reached a point where I really don't want to live here anymore, reasonable requests are met with mean comments and I am out as much as possible to avoid seeing them. I'm in my third year and it's starting to affect my work.

I don't have a break clause and am struggling to find anyone to fill my room (the house is hardly desirable and the housemates aren't a big selling point). Can anyone advise on any ways to try and surrender tenancy under extenuating circumstances, potentially without my having to find someone to move in to my room or without paying a lot of rent upfront?

Is this a joint tenancy, or is it a room only one. In both cases, you cannot force the landlord to accept surrender, but, in he former, the surrender would be for all the sharers, not just you.

Comment

Is there someone at the College that could help you?

Comment

Our tenants sign on a joint tenancy, and this last contract, within 3 mths the new girl wanted out as she was a party and the other girls weren't happy so she asked to leave.
        I will never expect anyone to stay where they are unhappy, so I agreed that we would let her out of her lease, if she or the other girls found someone to rent that room and resign on a lease with the original two.
        She found someone quickly and left with no trouble.