Tenant trashed property

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tenant trashed property

Hi I need some advice. I’m relatively new to being a landlord. I used an agency but they weren’t very good so I started to do everything myself, which was fine until recently. GgI had a DSS tenant in my property in north Scotland for almost 2 years. They decided to move and gave 4 weeks notice, which I accepted. They had a SAT which was rolling month to month without rent increase from nov2017-May 2019. I notified them of a slight rent increase to make rent in line with housing benefits (extra £80 a month). At this point she decided to leave which was fine. I just completed the house Inspection and house is trashed- it’s not been deep cleaned, we’re pets and smokers (breach of terms), smoke detectors are all removed or hanging, bathroom at some point in last year has flooded into kitchen, there is no pressure in shower which as been replaced without my knowledge, the jacuzzi doesn’t work now, door is broken. Every bedroom door is covered in paint and either has what looks like a fist mark or a hole of some sort. Same goes for shed and garage doors- hanging by 1 hinge and they’re broken. The concrete wall has cracks which a brick is told me looks like someone has smashed something on top to cause the damage. Floodlights hanging off, wiring cut in lounge, all carpets were brand new before the tenancy started in 2017 and house was all painted magnolia or white. The flooring I put down is gone and carpet right cheap £2.99p/m stuff is in its place (no underlay). Same with vinyl in kitchen- it’s replaced with Poundland floor tiles. The hall carpet and 2 of 3 bedroom carpets have stains, ink and what looks like either wax or something sticky all over carpets. The last bedroom has had the carpet replaced with a bright blue carpet (was a deep red before and expensive). The rooms have been painted badly and blue paint is now on ceiling and skirting. The kitchen had new worktop