Circuit boards

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Circuit boards

I am a director of a resident management company. One of our directors, an ex electrical engineer , ( not registered with a competent persons scheme ) has fitted circuit boards without having them certified. He has told me we can not force residents to have them certified. My question is : how responsible are the board for his work in owner occupied flats , and can this effect our buildings insurance should the worst happen ?

What are the circuit boards in?

Comment

I guess he means consume units. A new consumer unit would be notifiable work, if not certified under a competent persons scheme.

I'm not sure that being a director establishes a legal connection with the management company, but there may well be a covenant, in the lease, requiring compliance with local and national laws, so any leaseholder who doesn't get a building control sign off is likely to be in breach of the lease. It is probably something to taken into consideration in your fire risk assessment, and there is a moral case for checking whether it was notified (often this can be done online) and raising an unauthorised work report.

An unauthorised work record really ought to cause problems when the leaseholder sells.

Comment

The work should be certified.
        If there is no certificate then how can you prove when it was done and if it was done correctly.
        Most items are date stamped or coded so there is tracability

It is a choice of getting it done right at the time or not.

If it is not you take your chances and hope for the best, you could get an EICR from a compotent person to ascertain the condition of the install then you can prove you have done due diligence.

Comment