Electrical Inspection Question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Electrical Inspection Question

My last electrical inspection was carried out almost 5 years ago August 2013. I have a tenancy change over in a couple of weeks. I am deliberating whether to have an electrical check carried out during this period or hold fire as I believe there are new Mandatory 5 year checks currently under consultation. If I left it I could ensure that I complied with anything else required.
    I have changed my mind a couple of times, so would appreciate hearing what you would do under the circumstances.

If it's an HMO (including those that does not have to be licensed), then you are required to have the checks every 5 years already.
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

Comment

KTC - Sorry should have mentioned, it's not a HMO or in a compulsory license area - 1 Bedroom flat.

Comment

When the mandatory checks arrive, there will be a flurry of bottom feeding middlemen who will carry out these checks, and electricians will be inundated with plenty of spurious work, 98% of which will contribute nothing at all to safety.

Yet another blow to tenants.

I would be inclined to wait (assuming you think your electrical facilities are safe), and then effectively charge the fees and works to tenants as usual.

According to the Guardian there are about 35 electrocution deaths in the UK per year in men and about 2 in women (that discrepancy alone is pretty informative). It is not clear how many of those are in the home, and within those how many are in the private rental sector --- and then even more relevant -- how many of those would be prevented by such "checks". I suggest the number saved approaches zero. But a lot of money will be made, and a lot of money will be spent (at the end of the day by tenants).

1994-37 deaths.
        1995-42.
        1996-36.