Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fire in Bathroom?

Morning

I am pretty certain that the electric fire that I have found in a property recently visited is not legal, but am struggling with the landlady, as she is adamant that it is fine. I really need to show her some sort of proof in writing before she will accept the recommendation. They also have a normal 3 spot light fitting in there, on a high ceiling but in a very steamy bathroom with out ventilation.
    Can somebody point me in the right direction?

There are no showers or baths in your photograph, so it is not possible to tell whether it complies with current regulations. See http://electrical.theiet.org/wiring-...-701/index.cfm for a summary.

Comment

Most houses in the sixties had those sort of fires in the bathroom. One of mine still has. They are fine. Are you a prospective tenant, letting agent, or EHO?

Comment

As far as I am aware, and I am not an electrician, outside zone 2 there is no special requirements. If that fire is not within 60cm of a basin/shower/bath (or right above) it will thus be OK. Same for the lights.

Steam to ceiling lights may cause a failure but is not dangerous (hence no requirements, I suppose).

Comment

How badly do you want this instruction? (assuming you're an agent)

Comment

Nice to know my generic Clerk info is OK. >60cms of a water source seems to be the general guideline!

Comment

I'm a newbie property manager, and it is in a bathroom with a bath, I thought that a non sealed electrical item was deemed unsafe?

Comment

Originally posted by sharplearningcurve View Post
                I'm a newbie property manager, and it is in a bathroom with a bath, I thought that a non sealed electrical item was deemed unsafe?