AST: flood from faulty tap, but who's responsible?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AST: flood from faulty tap, but who's responsible?

Hi there,

I've just joined this forum as I am looking for advice relatign to a AST I have just ended. The story is as follows:

I have been renting the propert for 10 months and recently gave notice that I was planning to move out. I moved all my property to my new address just over 2 weeks before I was due to hand over the keys back to the estate agents.

After approximately 10 days I received a call from the estate agents to say they had been in the property (without calling me for permission) and noticed that there was a leak from the tap where the washer had been removed. The valve was closed but the tap had still leaked.

The estate agents have said they expect me to pay for the plumber to come out and cap off the tap, which as they maintain the property I would expect them to pay for. They also expect me to pay for a carpet cleaning company to come round and vac up the excess water that has flooded the hall and lounge carpet.

I'm not sure how I stand on this legally, as this is resultant of the failed tap should the landlord be responsible for the tap and the carpet cleaning company, or as I had left the property vacant would I be responsible for the carpet cleaning.

Sorry for the long email but I just wanted to explain the whole story.

Cheers

Andy

As a contractor for agents i can tell you that a faulty tap is not your fault and any pipe or tap can burst at any time and this would be the sole responsibilty of the agent not you!

Comment

Whipers, I'm not sure it's as clear as that. Whilst the tap may not have worked properly... no leak could occur until OP took his washing machine off the pipe. Only the removal of the washing machine led to the flood.
      The contents of this note are neither advice nor a definitive answer. If you plan to rely on this, you should pay somebody for proper advice.