EPC BEFORE jAN 2013 AND S21

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EPC BEFORE jAN 2013 AND S21

What a wonderful place this forum is, I’m a Newbie and have a couple of questions I hope to get answers for.
    My understanding was there was no legal landlord requirement for EPC before Jan 2013, but not sure now.

A, If tenants were granted a shorthold tenancy for a 4 bed house in Sept 2012 and moved in before January
    2013 did I needed to have an EPC in place to advertise and to let the property, importantly did/do I need one to issue a section 21 notice to them.

B, If I need an EPC to issue a section 21 can I have one done now to comply and could tenant refuse to have EPC done. Or Could I pay back deposit to comply.

C, Does applying for a rent increase preclude serving a s21.

The tenancy rolled on and became periodic after the first fixed term.
    Thank you for reading this.

I believe you are okay on both EPC and rent increase. The form to apply for a possession order is here: http://formfinder.hmctsformfinder.ju.../n005b-eng.pdf

Comment

Great, thank you. there is a clause within the original SH lease that states "The rent will be reviewed and may be increased at the end of the fixed term and annually thereafter".
      So do I give a months notice of increase, do I then issue section 16 or not and is there limit to the rent increase as I only charge £650 pcm and all comparable properties in the area are at least £900 pcm and LHA rate is over £850 pcm. what do you advise.

Comment

I would try to get agreement rather than send notices. I ask for about double the increase I am after, and compromise half way.

Comment

So I take it there isn't a limit to the increase amount, but what happens if we can't reach agreement, do I just increase and if they don't pay class it as arrears, can I serve a section 8 if that happens or rely on s21.