Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Landlord - Paying out for multiple issues in the first two months

Hello everyone

I am very new to the world of private lettings, I recently bought a new house with my partner and rather than sell my old one (tried to on the market for almost a year without a single offer) I decided to rent it out.

So after borrowing a lump sum from the bank of mum and dad in order to pay the stamp duty now involved with keeping my old house and having tenants ready to move into straight away I set up a budget in order to keep everything ticking over.

The issue I have is the tenants are continually contacting the agent who is managing the property complaining about one thing or another, I have had calls once or twice a week since they moved in at the end of April.

The issues include

1. Downstairs toilet light has gone can not find replacement bulbs that fit.
    2. Shower is leaking into downstairs ceiling (I had this issue fixed on the insurance when I lived there in 2015 so not quite sure what's happened to make it start leaking again)
    3. The agent informed them that there is two showers in the house (my partner and i set up a shower in the bathroom when we were getting the old shower fixed, it was not perfect as it came from the mixer tap and the pressure was rubbish but it did the job while the other shower was getting fixed) the tenant now wants me to pay for a power shower in the bathroom as they feel that they rented out on the understanding that there are two showers.
    4.one of the French doors dropped and it takes a good push in order to line it up and lock it into place, bear in mind this is not the one that is used the most often.
    5. Boiler is not modern and during the summer a hot water heater is needed for hot water alone.
    6. Pilot light on boiler blows out in servere gales.
    7. Pressure in main shower went as plumber has determined that the theromostat in that shower has gone.