Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Section 21 (1) (b) pre October 1st 2015

Apologies in advance if this question has been asked already:-

Have a tenant, they signed an AST pre October 1st 2015, and was given a Section (1) (b) at the time of signing the AST.

Since Ocotber 1st 2015, their rent has been increased and they have signed a new AST reflecting this.

Am I right in thinking that the original S21 is still valid?

Or do I now have to serve them a S6a?

Thanks

You need to issue a new (Deregulation Act compliant) section 21 notice if by "new AST", a new tenancy was created.

If you took a deposit, deposit need to have been protected on time, prescribed information served, EPC, GSC, How to Rent booklet (most recent version at the time of the new AST), ...
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

Comment

As said by KTC . . .

You issued a section 21 telling them you want the property back - then agreed a new tenancy with them. it's contradictory. The s21 relates to the old tenancy, you need a new one. Presume you provided all the paperwork mentioned by KTC?

Comment

Thanks guys,

Deposit has been protected, prescribed info given, no EPC needed as its a bedsit, there's gas so no GSC needed, got HMO license, only thing they havent had is the "how to rent" guide.

Would I need to give them this and then I can serve notice on them?

Thanks

Comment

Originally posted by Davey View Post
          there's gas so no GSC needed
          Is there a typo there?

Originally posted by Davey View Post
          Would I need to give them this and then I can serve notice on them?