Flat was previously landlord's home - what effect does this have?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Flat was previously landlord's home - what effect does this have?

Very long re-entry clause that also covers right of mortgage holder to take possession. Does thi mean less security of tenure? 1 mnth AST,England, no break clause. Multiple tenancy, rent paid monthly, starting soon.

Ground 1 & Ground 2 of Housing Act 1988? That's still 2 months notice, then court.

http://www.landlordlawblog.co.uk/201...wner-occupier/

http://www.landlordlawblog.co.uk/201...itled-to-sell/
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

Comment

Can they give that notice within the first 6 months or are the tenats still reasonably safe for that period (assuming they pay rent and dont do anything against the agreement?

Comment

Not much to go on, please complete & paste http://www.landlordzone.co.uk/forums...ll-new-posters
        The notification of Section 1 or 2 grounds in orig AST is a requirement of related legislation for LLs to use this for repo if nec.
        Has a s8 yet been served citing these Grounds, if so when?
        s21 requirements should remain unaffected. IMO

Comment

Apart from my keyboard sticking and hence not saying the AST term is 12 months all relevant information was in my post. The tenancy has not yet started therefore obviously no section 8 served, the contract contains a long clause that is the notification required before the landlord could serve a notice. I simply want to know if this gives a good tenant less rights.

Comment

I think the answer is yes, but not much. Sounds from your post like it's an HMO so probably less likely that LL will want to re-occupy

Comment

It doesn't give any less rights.