Housing benefit/family problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Housing benefit/family problem

You're all going to love this one. I own a house which I have been letting for about three years. It has recently become vacant and whilst on the market my ex-wife has split up with her partner and can't find anywhere big enough for her and 4 kids (2 of which are mine). It seemed a perfect solution to let her the property, I have no worries that she will do a midnight flit and I know she will look after the place (as well as the reassurance of knowing my kids aren't living in a **** hole).
    The problem is that she needs housing benefit to make the rent. They have refused to pay because she is my ex partner and she also has my kids.
    I am now in a fix. She has been in the house for 6 weeks and has made some contribution towards the rent (but less than half). I cannot afford to let her stay there on that basis as the mortgage is killing me. Equally I don't want to turf her out or have her find somewhere else as I am left with an empty house again.
    My question is, is there a way around it?
    If I let the property to my dad can he sub let it to her and recieve the benefit?
    Alternatively if I get his name put on the mortgage can he do the same?
    I suppose what I want to know is who can be the landlord?

I am desperate to the resolve this so that they can stay as the arrangement suits everybody. The stupid thing is that they will pay HB for anybody else in the house OR they would pay her HB if the landlord was anyone else but as it stands she will be homeless or living in a dump with four kids and I will have a vacant property and mortgage arrears!!!
    Any advice greatly appreciated.
    Doh

Your dad, as an immediate next of kin would not qualify for HB.