Problems being accepted as tenant- please advise

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Problems being accepted as tenant- please advise

I have, in the past 2 months started a new job as a trainee accountant so am looking to move closer to my place of work. I have a good credit history, have not been out of work since I graduated 2 years ago and I have been a 'good' tenant in my current property for just under 2 years, I have always paid my rent on time.

I viewed a house share and the current tenants are happy to recruit me as a tenant so I applied to the landlord. The landlord rejected my application and after many unfruitful phone calls with the lettings agency, I found that the agent had text one of the current tenants in the property to say that the landlord was concerned that I am a 'trainee' and had only been in my current job for 2 months.

The landlord requested that I have a guarantor so my parents agreed to be a guarantor. They have also asked for a copy of my employment contract, payslips, and confirmation from the remaining tenants that they are happy for me to be the new tenant. The lettings agency have said that I may need to pay 3 months' rent in advance, but that this rent would be for the end of the tenancy not the immediate 3 months if I were to be accepted. I said this was unfair and I'd be happy to pay a larger deposit instead.

I believe that the lettings agency and maybe the landlord to an extent are being avaricious as it would cost £2,500 to move into the house share! The new landlord has not bothered to contact my current landlord and they are rejecting me on the basis of my current situation and EVEN WITH A GUARANTOR!

Can someone shed some light on this please or should I just walk away?

Trouble is that all my 'bad' tenants think they are 'good' tenants.

If you can't/won't meet the requirements, there's not much point in arguing, is there?

Comment