Ability to let room with no windows but a skylight

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ability to let room with no windows but a skylight

Hi this is my first time on this forum - fingers crossed!

We are just about to take our first tentative steps into property investment. We have viewed a property today that has two rooms, but as one of the rooms has no external windows and just a skylight it is being sold by the estate agent as a 1 bedroom flat (NB it is ground floor). The estate agent told us that in terms of renting that this room could be let as a bedroom because landlords aren't subject to the same restrictions about what is defined as a bedroom. I have come home and tried to confirm this statement on the internet but haven't been able to so was wondering if anyone knew if his statement was correct? A few extra details. The room is quite light as a result of the skylight so amount of natural light shouldn't be an issue. The bedroom in question has a door that opens directly on to the hallway of the flat. The hallway opens onto a corridor with a firedoor before finally opening onto the street. Also off the hallway is a bedroom with a window onto a courtyard garden and a kitchen with a sliding door onto the same courtyard garden. The bedroom easily fits a double bed.

Thanks in advance for your help!

The agent is talking nonsense. If anything LLs are subject to more stringent regulatioans than ordinary householders, in terms of which rooms can be used for what.

What is the floor area of the room, what is the are of the skylight and what is the area of floor with a ceiling height above it of 2.4m? (In practice, this means disregard any floor area with a sloping ceiling above it).

If it's a ground floor flat, does that mean that the room with a skylight is in an extension, or what?