Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New tenant paying £££ up front- dodgy?

Hi

I am new to letting and I'm not sure if this is dodgy.
    I have just shown a lady around one of my properties (she was viewing it on behalf of her partner as he can't come until the weekend)
    She has just emailed me and said he wants the flat and he would like to give me the the months deposit,and the first 3 months rent !
    I did explain to her during the viewing that I would be doing a credit check and checking all his references (I will use tenant verify)
    so presumably if he is dodgy it will show up.

I just can't think why he would want to give me so much money,that is what is making me think something is not right here,or is he just really keen ?

Any advice would be really great !

Originally posted by Loulou View Post
    Hi

I am new to letting and I'm not sure if this is dodgy.
    I have just shown a lady around one of my properties (she was viewing it on behalf of her partner as he can't come until the weekend)
    She has just emailed me and said he wants the flat and he would like to give me the the months deposit,and the first 3 months rent !
    I did explain to her during the viewing that I would be doing a credit check and checking all his references (I will use tenant verify)
    so presumably if he is dodgy it will show up.

I just can't think why he would want to give me so much money,that is what is making me think something is not right here,or is he just really keen ?

Any advice would be really great !
    Perhaps your property is ideally located for a cannabis-growing enterprise?
    JEFFREY SHAW, solicitor [and Topic Expert], Nether Edge Law*
    1. Public advice is believed accurate, but I accept no legal responsibility except to direct-paying private clients.
    2. Telephone advice: see http://www.landlordzone.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=34638.