Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lettings Agency isn't letting us change tenants

Hi,

I'm a student living with three other students and recently one of the other residents and I have decided that we want to move out. However, the lettings agency isn't letting us change the tenants. They said that the reasons behind this were:

A legally enforceable document has been signed which remains in force until the end of the Term as detailed in the Tenancy Agreement.
    As this is a legally binding document there is no obligation on the Landlord to agree to amend or change the Terms of the Agreement.
    The parties of the Agreement are contractually bound by the Terms and obligations of the Tenancy Agreement.

We have now had permission from the landlord but they're still refusing to help in anyway simply stating that they 'don't do changeovers'. The landlord has said that in the past some of his tenants has switched over so I know that this is not the case. It doesn't say anything about not being able to change tenants anywhere in the contract and it even goes as far as to say this:

Agree that if this Tenancy is created following a change of Tenant at the Property all Tenants, including those Tenants, agree to accept all liability and responsibility for the condition of the Property....

Is there any action that I can take? The current plan is for the other person leaving and their mum to go in to talk to the agency but is there anything that they should say or do? Or anything that can be done in the meantime?

Also, I went in to their branch one time and they told me in detail what I could do to do this, so they definitely have a procedure for this!

Thanks!

If the landlord is happy with your proposal then get him to instruct the agents accordingly. Obviously this is extra paperwork so may carry extra fees.

Comment

What you can do with or without the landlord / agent's consent/permission depends on the type of tenancy.