Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sub tenant contract and deposit dispute

Hi,

I am a student who rented out a room to another tenant who was renting an apartment from the landlord.

My deposit was given via bank transfer during late August to the person who was subletting. It was agreed I would move in on the 1st of October. I was told by the sub letter that I would take his larger cleaner room and he would move into the remaining smaller room. He also said indoor parking was available for which I could rent out. It was agreed I would rent the room out for £400 per month with all bills included. We agreed that we would live together and then I would take over the apartment after Mid December (as he was leaving the UK). After mid November I would have to sign another contract with the landlord directly- for the WHOLE apartment and then I would sublet the second room.

He changed his mind.

He told me I could not have the original room until he moved out Mid December. I also discovered that according to the managing agent I could not legally rent out the parking space (security reasons etc). I moved half of my stuff out into the new apartment by the 20th of September.

I chose not to move in on the 1st of October- and was in a state of panic. Had I been duped? ...I asked for my deposit back soon after as I felt it was better to avoid a possible dishonest subletter situation.

My deposit has not been protected by a scheme I have discovered, although the tenancy agreement from the National Landlords Association signed by the sub letter says he would protect it within 14 days of receiving it. Over 1 month later there is no sign of protection.

I told him via text I would no longer be moving in shortly after October the 1st. I asked for my deposit back, but he told me he used it towards rent to the main landlord.

I have never met the main landlord by the way (I know, I was stupid).