Ending Assured Shorhold Tenancy Agreement before I moved in.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ending Assured Shorhold Tenancy Agreement before I moved in.

I am a student and in April put my e-signature on joint assured short hold tenancy agreement with two others for a house, the lease started at the start on july. Not long after I did this I decided I would not be going back to uni and therefore cannot afford the room. I told the estate agent and they said they would put my room on the market but I would still be liable to pay until a replacement was found.

I did not give them a deposit. I did not give a gaurantour and I was not given the key to the property so need to know should I still have to pay considering these factors?

And is it likely they would take me to court for this? The rent I iowe them so for is near to a grand.

Why haven't your housemates tried to find someone? Aren't they also liable for the missing rent?

Comment

They would be liable even though it was advertisesed per person. We have been looking and put it up on numerous sites with no luck. The estate agent said they would but didn't until I asked them about it a month later. they then lied about how long it had been advertised for, which is irrelevent because it isn't upto them but they obviously don't mind ripping off naive students.

Comment

I think if both the agents and your housemates are daft enough not to market the property- at a time of year when I'd have thought someone would snatch their hand off,- I would let them carry the can for this.

If either sue you, I would use that as your defence.

Comment

I can't leave it to my housemates because its my choice, I've already messed them about by not going in it. It has been advertised for a few months but no one seems to want it.

Sorry could you explain that last part again, use what as my defence?

Comment