My upstairs neighbour cut power cable, who is liable for the cost?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My upstairs neighbour cut power cable, who is liable for the cost?

Hi all, I'm a newbie landlord and own a ground floor flat. My tenant has already called me to say she has no power in the living room...So I took time off work and check wall switch/light fixture etc. Nothing. No power source found so I called my electrician at a cost of £55 call out and he found that my cable was actually cut by someone who lives above me

So I called my upstairs neighbour and he said his electrician did the rewiring recently, and that he only cut wires underneath his floor on "his side" and that my cable shouldn't be on "his side". In his analysis, the floor is made up of:

His Floor/void
    Concrete separating layer
    My Ceiling/void

My neighbour said one of my wire has been drilled through the concrete separating layer and channeled along his floor. So my neighbour's electrician arrived and had a look and said "yes, I cut that wire", and then reconnected the cut wire so my tenant now have power. I then asked my neighbour to pay me £55 for my electrician ti come and take a look.

BUT...my neighbour said it is my responsibility that "my" cables are routed on "my side" so this wan't his fault, meaning he won't pay the £55 for my electrician to come out. In fact, he said I should pay the £55 AND the new/additional cost of HIS electrician to come out etc.

Questions

1 - Does anyone know who should pay for the £55 it cost me to get an electrician to come out?

2 - The electrician simply reconnected the cut wire using a connecting block, but my electrician said I should really have this fixed properly, meaning a whole new cable from the wall switch to the light fixture and never via a connecting block (as it is more prone to failure).

I agree with the neighbour - you shouldn't have wiring running in his property.
    And the connecting block is a risk.