what can I claim for?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

what can I claim for?

I want to start action on a tenant who is currently owing rent, the tenant has left the property and vanished owing rent and still with several moths on their contract, what I need to know is can I claim only for the amount owing as of now or can I claim for the future months to the end of the tennancy as well?

so if rent is £100 a month and they currently owe 3 months, with a further 3 months on the contract on my letter before action what is the amount I am claiming, the £300 or the full amount of say £600?

You're entitled to claim rent up until the end of the contract - that is what they agreed to.

If they've done a runner your best bet, if you can't track them down online is to use a service like findermonkey.co.uk. Its £60 I think, no find no fee. Best to wait about a month after they've gone before doing that to give them time to establish a new paper trail.
    I'm not a lawyer, what I say is the truth as I understand it. I offer no guarantee except good intentions.

Comment

do I have to serve a section and 8 or 21? I'm not seeking reposession just my money back, it's only a student let and contract is only until June so I fear that there is no point in starting those proceeding as I will never be able to let the room for the sake of a couple of months, Ijust want the rent covered?

Comment

No, you don't need to serve either, the tenancy will automatically lapse at the end of the fixed term assuming they aren't in occupation at that time..... if they come back and move back in even 1 minute before the fixed term ends though then they will be entitled to remain in the property under an SPT until you formally evict them - bear that in mind.