Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How much notice do I have to give?

Hi I am new to this here goes.

I am a private tenant, I signed a 6 month contract, I have been in the property 9 months and never signed a new contract.
    I use a letting agent, I have given 1 month notice in writing recorded delivery.

I have received a copy of my first contract with the words highlighted:-

If the Tenant intends to vacate at the end of the fixed term, or at any later date, he agrees to give the Landlord at least two month's prior Notice in writing.
    While the tenancy is periodic the two month's written Notice must expre the day before the Rent Due Date.

Where do I stand? I have tried to research this, but I am getting confused

Thanks in advance

All the details will be in your original AST, do you have it to hand?
    "I'm afraid I didn't do enough background checks apart from checking her identity on Facebook" - ANON

What I say is based on my own experience and research - Please don't take as gospel without first checking the gospel yourself.

Comment

Yes, they sent me a copy with those words highlighted, my question is due to conflicting information on the web. I read that this clause is invalid as I am not in the original contract anymore, so a periodic tenancy is in place, and statutory law overrides contract law.... confused

Comment

I'm confused aswell and I asked this question from the other side of the fence.

http://www.landlordzone.co.uk/forums...odic-Tenancies
        "I'm afraid I didn't do enough background checks apart from checking her identity on Facebook" - ANON

What I say is based on my own experience and research - Please don't take as gospel without first checking the gospel yourself.

Comment