Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Electrical Cowboys

Hey,

I'm fairly new to this whole landlorderry shenanigans but i rent out a few properties and one of my tenants rang at 12 this morning (bank holiday) to report an electrical fault with her fuses in the house. After a brief discussion it turned out the main circuit was down on the house - ie still getting lights / heating etc but not the sockets themselves. After a brief analysis it seemed clear that it was more than just the fuse needing replacing so I got a local electrician in to locate the problem,rip up some floorboards, and get everything back in working order. To be fair to the guy, it took him 2 hours, he was there within 20 mins of me calling, he left everything looking pristine afterwards, and it was a bank holiday,, but he charged £200 for his efforts.

What I really want to know is have I been taken for a mug ? and would I have been within my rights to ask the tenant to make do without her electrical apliances until after the bank holiday weekend (ie next tuesday)

Any feedback would be much appreciated as I should like to know how to react if god forbid the same thing happens again in future.

kind regards

fishfingerz

The only way to be sure of a good level of service at fair reasonable prices is to have your team of tradesmen lined up before such events happen.
    That way you will know what they charge for a bank holiday weekend call out.

£200 doesn't seem unfair in the circumstances.

Try to look at it this way, if you have a good tenant in place would you risk upsetting them by leaving them with no electric for 3 or 4 days over a long bank holiday just to save 50 quid?

Comment

It's best to get Home Emergency Maintenance Cover; it may be on your Building Insurance already?

If not, it's only £50 extra and will sort out any Emergency Maintenance problems when required.