bad drains

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

bad drains

I moved into a property last Thursday. On the day I moved in there was a dreadful smell of sewage which the agent noted on the inventory. I thought maybe it was just bad because the flat had been empty for a couple of months. After cleaning etc it just continues. I have contacted the agency who are in contact with the landlord but no one can let me know when something might happen about it. The smell is so bad sometimes it makes me retch - and i'm a nurse so used to emptying bedpans!
    Please can anyone tell me if there is a time limit for this being investigated and fixed.

Tell the agents this is an emergency issue as far as you are concerned. As you have not heard from them have contacted the Environmental Health Department of your local Council.

At the moment we don't know whether it is a simple blocked drain causing the smell or perhaps something more serious such as a broken sewer or collapsed inspection chamber.

That is working on the assumption that the smell is indeed from drainage and not something else such as decomposing animal.
    Vic - wicked landlord
    Any advice or suggestions given in my posts are intended for guidance only and not a substitute for completing full searches on this forum, having regard to the advice of others, or seeking appropriate professional opinion.
    Without Plain English Codes of Practice and easy to complete Prescribed Forms the current law is too complex and is thus neither fair to good tenants nor good landlords.

Comment

Thanks I've done that this morning. I think it is the drains as it is worst in the bathroom and the kitchen. I've pulled everything out to check for dead mice too!
      Is there a reasonable response period for something like this. I have an 8 month lease and can't bear this smell for that long!

Comment

The Council will notify the landlord of his legal responsibilities .