Landlord Access Rights when rental period is ending due to Section 21 ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Landlord Access Rights when rental period is ending due to Section 21 ?

I have been renting for 3 yrs and have been served Section 21 (the landlord has decided to sell the apartments instead of renting them, so I have two months to move out). That part is fine, but what I'm trying to confirm is whether I have a legal right (or implied right) to restrict access to the apartment until I vacate, or to offer only 1 day per week for agents to enter.

I am very uncomfortable with agents having keys and allowing potential buyers in my home while I'm not there. If it was limited to 1-2 weeks, it would be manageable, but it's for 2.5 months. I can't live on a day-to-day basis feeling like I have to hide all of my valuables and ensure the place is neat and presentable for viewing. I typically work 13-17 hour days, so I barely have time to breathe, much less deal with the added burden of frequent viewings. Additionally, my limited time at home is precious and I'm mentally dead by then and typically hide at home to recuperate...so arranging time for viewings when I'm home and giving up the little bit of free time I have to strangers is also highly stressful and invasive (for me at least).

Do I have any legal options to decline viewings until my move date (or restrict viewings to 1 day per week to avoid the ongoing hassle and stress)? Does is matter whether my lease indicates that I should provide access in the final 60 days of renting (since I'm not actually leaving, but rather being forced out)?

My rental company has sought my approval for viewings and offered me to stay longer if I provide more access....which leads me to believe that I have the right to refuse. Thank you!!

Best regards,
    Adelina