How much is too much?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How much is too much?

Big 3 bed semi to let - agent on find only deal. Agent keeps moaning that just under 2 x months rent deposit is too much and is putting people off. We allow dogs and do not ask for extra deposit. What does everyone else charge? (and yes it is lodged with the DPS when we get it!)
    Unshackled by the chains of idle vanity, A modest manatee, that's me

I think it's all relative to other properties in the market. Here the norm is 1 month to 1.5months deposit. But the amount also has to be relative to the likely costs incurred if tenants go bad.
    [I]The opinions I give are simply my opinions and interpretations of what I have learnt, in numerous years as a property professional, I would not rely upon them without consulting with a paid advisor and providing them with all the relevant facts[I]

Comment

Change agent! I take 6 weeks rent as deposit and don't let to dogs (or their owners).

I am sure that 6 weeks deposit is standard practice.

Freedom at the point of zero............

Comment

Originally posted by islandgirl View Post
        Big 3 bed semi to let - agent on find only deal. Agent keeps moaning that just under 2 x months rent deposit is too much and is putting people off.