Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Foreseeing problems with the inventory.

Hello all

I am a foreign student in England and I have to leave my landlords' property (excluded tenancy) in 3 weeks. I have no contract (big mistake I know), no inventory report was made by each side upon arrival, and I already paid.
    I realised, unfortunately too late, that they where dishonest people, who tried to scam me several times.

Before leaving, my landlords will do the inventory I suppose, I kept the room in the same condition (even had to clean some parts that were disgusting), so basically it's in a better condition than when I arrived.
    Yet, my landlords being what they are, I suspect they could try to extort money from me,pretexting I dirtied or damaged things, probably under a threat of some sort as they already tried.

I am wondering which recourse I have ? I don't know the exact date of the inventory (it's probably pointless to ask them, they won't tell me). I could probably ask the person in charge of me at the school to come or maybe the police ? As I need these people to forward any mail I could receive after I left, I try to cross them the least I can.

Thanks for your future help.

You say it's an excluded tenancy.Does your landlord live in the same building/house/flat as you?

Did you pay a deposit?

What do you mean by a threat to extort money?

For a check-out inventory report to have any strength as evidence, there needs to be an equivalent check-in report at the start of the tenancy or licence. It doesn't prove anything if there is only a check-out report saying X is damaged unless the check-in report says X is in good condition/undamaged.

Comment

Originally posted by Griffe View Post
      As I need these people to forward any mail I could receive after I left, I try to cross them the least I can.