How does a landlord renew / resign / extend an Assured Shorthold Tenancy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How does a landlord renew / resign / extend an Assured Shorthold Tenancy?

Hello,

I'm hoping somebody can help me. I'm new to this Landlord business and have been trying to do everything without an agent by sourcing documents and advice online, however I'm a little stuck when it comes to renewing/resigning the AST.

I have lovely tenants who have been no trouble at all. They first signed up to a 6 month AST on 01 Oct 2012 and so this comes to an end on 31 March 2013. I've been looking into how to renew this for another 6 months but I'm getting completely confused as to whether a 2 month s21 notice to leave or resign is required or not. I'm sure if I just turned up and asked them to resign they would, but I want to be confident that I'm doing everything by the book.

I realise that in the absence of resigning it turns into a periodic tenancy meaning they could give 1 month's notice to leave (as rent is on a monthly basis), it would just help me out if I didn't have to think about this except for on a 6 monthly basis.

So this is a call for help to any legal buffs out there. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Alex

Not sure if you want tenant to leave or not Alex. Did you mean re-sign meaning renew, or resign meaning end?
    To save them chiming in, JPKeates, Theartfullodger, Boletus, Mindthegap, Macromia, Holy Cow & Ted.E.Bear think the opposite of me on almost every subject.

Comment

Hi JK0,

Thanks for taking the time to look at my query. I'm sorry I meant resigning as in renew. I want the tenants to stay, just to commit to 6 months rather than on a month by month basis.

What do you think? I don't really want to scare them with a notice to leave or resign but if that's how it works I can just explain that.

Comment

The easiest way is to do another tenancy agreement afresh.