Siliconing the bath

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Siliconing the bath

Silly question but who is resonsible to resilicone the bath in the middle of an AST

Depends why it needs the work? has it reached the end of its life? Tenant been negligent and not ventilated causing it to mould up and dry/crack?

Ultimately, by the letter of the law I suspect that it would fall within the obligations of the Landlord under S11 L&T A 1985.
    [I]The opinions I give are simply my opinions and interpretations of what I have learnt, in numerous years as a property professional, I would not rely upon them without consulting with a paid advisor and providing them with all the relevant facts[I]

Comment

I doubt it falls under LL's s.11 repairing obligations.

It could easily fall under a T's duty to behave in a tenant-like manner, but that's still questionable. What if the sealant were on its last legs at the start of the tenancy? Why should T pay to fix it a month later? Different scenario if it's 10 years into an AST.

However, the silliness is if LL refuses to reseal then ends up with damp damage downstairs. If LL is convinced that T is responsible, but T refuses, then LL should carry out the work and claim against T for the cost.

Comment

I have to say, I wouldn't dream of leaving this to a tenant, or even to a tradesman. They always botch it up!

The secret is to cut all the old stuff out with Stanley blades, hoover, and then rub over with Meths on a bit of kitchen roll. If your hands are a bit shaky, mask a 1/4" gap with masking tape.

Fill up the bath, and run a 1/4" bead along the gap. Use the best silicone you can find. Lick your finger and run it over the top. Remove masking immediately, and smooth again. Leave water in until next day. Should be a perfect result.

Comment

Seems to me that this is part of keeping the bath in repair and proper working order, and so LL's duty under s.11.

Comment