T has given one month notice today on monthly periodic- one months notice from today?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

T has given one month notice today on monthly periodic- one months notice from today?

Hello all,

T has given one months notice today on the monthly periodic T.

If I accept that today does that mean 16th Feb or 17th of Feb that is the end date? As in does the day of notice count in the month?

Just checking.

Also as the rent is payable on the 6th of each month is the period 6-16 (or 17) done on a pro-rata basis?

Many thanks

macgrl

The rent payable date is irrelevant, unless it also happens to be the date that the tenancy went periodic. If it happened to go periodic on the 6th then tenant needs to give you at least one months notice so as not to expire before the end of a periodic period.
    [I]The opinions I give are simply my opinions and interpretations of what I have learnt, in numerous years as a property professional, I would not rely upon them without consulting with a paid advisor and providing them with all the relevant facts[I]

Comment

As advised above, the notice is 'at least 1 month' and ends at the end of a tenancy period.

When did the fixed term expire?
      All views posted reflect my personal opinion only and do not constitute professional advice which I am not qualified or knowledgeable enough to provide.

Comment

Hi thank you.

the fixed term expired 5th August.

So the end of each monthly period is the 5th of the month.

So the notice given today means that he is giving notice for the end of tenancy being 5th March?

The at "least one month" part encompassing from now until Feb 5th and then the month being 5th feb- 5th march?

Comment

Well it's technically the 6th February-5th March inclusive.

Yes the at least one month basically means you need to have an entire period of notice. It saves on accounting headaches!