Help Needed re:- letting spare rooms

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Needed re:- letting spare rooms

Hi, to cut a long story short I have just purchased a large 8 bedroomed house and would like to rent out some of the rooms monday to friday. My questions are what type of insurance do I need? Who do I need to tell? Are the people renting the rooms classed as lodgers? how many people can you take in? - as you have probably guessed I have never done this sort of thing before so any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks in advance

Sophie

I am not the best person to answer answer but I saw this previously and it may help.

http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/MoneyTax...ome/DG_4017804

Alison

Comment

Can you embellish a bit? What exactly are you planning to do? Just seems bizarre that you would only rent out monday to friday....
      Any posts by myself are my opinion ONLY. They should never be taken as correct or factual without confirmation from a legal professional. All information is given without prejudice or liability.

Comment

basically i would just be renting out to people who work away from home monday to friday and return to their own property at weekends. I have seen a website called Mondaytofriday.com
        Last edited by chimpanzes; 22-02-2007, 20:09 PM. Reason: update

Comment

Ah ok that would make sense

I think the main thing you would probably need to be aware of is I THINK the property would become HMO licensable if you took in more than 2 lodgers. Do a search for HMO to find out more!
          Any posts by myself are my opinion ONLY. They should never be taken as correct or factual without confirmation from a legal professional. All information is given without prejudice or liability.

Comment

Thanks for your help, I will look into this.

Comment

Monday to Friday? Don't be bamboozled by catchphrases.