Verbal months notice given but final months rent not paid!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Verbal months notice given but final months rent not paid!

I am a resident landlord, my tenant verbally gave me a months notice, agreed to clean the room (hasn't been done), extracted a verbal reference from me for their next tenancy, cleared their room and then handed the keys back. No rent for this month has been received. No deposit received at beginning of tenancy because they weren't able to pay.

Monthly rent collected via bank account transfer has always been on time up until now so I have a full record of all monies received.

Any advice on whether I can persue this through the smalls claim court if necessary (and would I win?) would be welcome?

Thanks.

Is it worth it? Has the ex-tenant got funds?

Freedom at the point of zero............

Comment

What did you say to the tenant about the rent when he handed you the keys?
      Do you have a contract?
      Allow tenants to protect their own deposits. I want free money when they do it wrong

Comment

Hi thesaint and Interlaken

Thanks for your replies - much appreciated!

1. Funds - I would say yes - regular income and enough income to increase their rent on new property and offer my cleaning lady a job ...

2. Keys - they didn't hand them to me personally but left them behind when they cleared the room for the final time. No contract. I've checked this on the Citizens Advice Bureau website and it says that as I am a resident landlord a contract is not necessary.

I've been trying to contact the tenant via phone, text and email but have had no response in 2 weeks. They've not replied to any of my messages.

Comment

Yes, a contract isn't necessary, but it's a lot easier to go to court with a piece of paper rather than what you will be turning up with.

Do you have an address for the ex-lodger?
          Allow tenants to protect their own deposits. I want free money when they do it wrong