Must advance rent be protected as a deposit or not? Can ADR make me pay 3X?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Must advance rent be protected as a deposit or not? Can ADR make me pay 3X?

Hi, I read:
    http://www.landlordzone.co.uk/blog/l...-not-protected

My tenants have moved out and I have returned most of the deposit but some money remains in the scheme for ADR over unpaid bills. I have never done ADR before so I am worried after reading the above article that the ADR will advise T to claim 3X when they see the AST I have to send with the evidence form.

On signing I took £1000 deposit plus one month's rent and I protected the £1000 but not the rent. The rent was for the final month.

The wording in the AST signed about 6 months before moving in is:

"Rent £X per month payable in advance by equal payments on the 1st day of each month. First payment to be made on 1st July 2011. Final payment for 1st June 2012 made on 3 Jan 2011(signing date)."

along with

"On signing this agreement £1000 must be paid to be held as a deposit.

One months advance rent (the final June 2012 installment) will also be paid." The remaining rent will be paid in 11 installments on the 1st day of each month from 1/7/2011 until a final payment on 1/5/2012."

Am I a risk of 3X sanction if I go ahead with ADR and send in the AST?

IMO the advance rent was taken for a specific period and no other purpose. It was spent once paid and not returnable. T had paid for the last month and was entitled to stay there for his money. I do not see money that has been "spent" can be considered "security" for future performance.

However I am so worried I might just back out of the ADR and try to get the bills resolved another way.

Please let me know what you think

Thanks and thanks again