Newbie Thinking of Renting Props - Advice Needed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie Thinking of Renting Props - Advice Needed

Hi - hope you can bear with me as I am a complete newbie, so I apologise if I seem to be asking stupid questions.

I am thinking of raising some money by way of a further advance and putting it towards a rental prop (or two)

Some questions.

1. I was thinking of putting as much deposit as I can down on a rental prop, but I have heard this is not 'tax efficient' - is this true? I was under the impression, the smaller mortgage payment I pay - the more rent I can keep? I beleive it has something to do with off setting the mortgage interest on your tax return. So is that true - better to have an outstading mortgage balance?

If so, how much deposit would you be looking to put down on a BTL prop? 25%?

2. Secondly - what sort of props are best? Flats? Terraced? Semi's? I could raise about £50k on my prop - did'nt know to put this down on one prop or a £25k deposit on two?

Is buying two straight away a bit too much though?

3. I would presume it is best to obtain a letting agent? What about a management agent? They take their monthly fee's or is it better to do it yourself? Pro's and con's of both I suppose. If you pay a letting agent what are they doing bar collecting the rent? Could'nt you do that? Same with the Management companies, I understand they arrange repairs but you still pay for them? What is the benefit of paying them the 15% or say charge to do this?

I understand some g'tee rent when the prop is empty, but I guess their monthly fee is higher than 15%.

4. I understand some mortgage deals have minimum income thresholds to qualify for a BTL mortgage - can see HSBC is £35k pa, my income is less than this. Can you get it on residential terms and then apply for Consent to Lease? Or are there other mortgage rates available.